Duleep Trophy: Akshay Wadkar replaces Abhishek Gupta in India Red squad


first_imgAkshay Wadkar has replaced suspended Abhishek Gupta in the India Red squad for the upcoming Duleep Trophy competition, which starts from August 17.The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) made this late change as Gupta is currently serving an eight-month ban for doping violation that ends in September and keeping that in mind the board announced the replacement for the Abhinav Mukund-led side.”It was brought to notice by the BCCI anti-doping team that Abhishek Gupta who was initially added in the India Red squad is serving an 8-month ban for a doping violation,” a BCCI statement read.”His ban is set to end on the September 14. The senior selection committee has reached a consensus that Akshay Wadkar will be included in the India Red team as Gupta’s replacement,” it added.It turned out to be a major faux pas for the governing body for cricket in India as Abhishek is banned from participation in cricket till September 14 while the Duleep Trophy is scheduled to take place from August 17 to September 8.Abhishek was handed a retrospective eight-month suspension for an “inadvertent” doping violation in June but was effective from January 15.Back in June BCCI had said that Abhishek had accidentally taken a prohibited substance called Terbutaline, which is commonly found in cough syrups.The Board said it was satisfied with Gupta’s explanation.”Gupta had provided a urine sample as part of the BCCI’s anti-doping testing program during a domestic T-20 competition on January 15 in New Delhi. His sample was subsequently tested and found to contain Terbutaline.advertisement”Terbutaline, a specified substance, is prohibited both In & Out of Competition in the WADA Prohibited List of Substances.”Abhishek had consumed the banned substance at the prescription of his doctor, the BCCI stated.”The BCCI is satisfied with Gupta’s explanation that he had taken Terbutaline inadvertently to treat an URTI and not as a performance-enhancing drug.”Abhishek has played six first-class matches, six List A games and nine T20s.The teams for the Duleep Trophy was selected on Monday in Kolkata by the selection committee.Duleep Trophy, 2018-19 squads:India Blue: Faiz Fazal (Captain), Abhishek Raman, Anmolpreet Singh, Ganesh Satish, N. Gangta, Dhruv Shorey, K.S. Bharat (WK), Akshay Wakhare, Saurav Kumar, Swapnil Singh, Basil Thampi, B Ayappa, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal KulkarniIndia Red: Abhinav Mukund (Captain), R.R. Sanjay, Ashutosh Singh, Baba Aparajith, Writtick Chatterjee, B. Sandeep, Akshay Wadkar, S Nadeem, Mihir Hirwani, Parvez Rasool, R Gurbani, A Mithun, Ishan Porel, Y. Prithvi RajIndia Green: Parthiv Patel (Captain & WK), Prashant Chopra, Priyank Panchal, Sudeep Chatterjee, Gurkeerat Mann, Baba Indrajit, V.P. Solanki, Jajal Saxena, Karn Sharma, Vikas Mishra, K. Vignesh, Ankit Rajpoot, Ashok Dinda, Atith Shethlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *